Record number of entries for IWF 2008 Challengers Distinguished Achievement Award

04 April 2008

Record number of entries for IWF 2008 Challengers Distinguished Achievement Award

IWF 2008 and the Challengers Distinguished Achievement Award will showcase the best the industry has to offer in new technology. Ninety-three companies have entered a record one hundred and twenty-six entries to compete for the coveted Challengers Distinguished Achievement Award, making the 2008 competition the largest ever for entries.
The Challengers Award, known throughout the world as the woodworking industry’s highest honor, recognizes innovative technology as well as significant contributions to environmental improvement; and focuses on companies who have distinguished themselves by developing innovative technology in products, services or techniques. It challenges IWF exhibiting companies to develop revolutionary, creative, forward-thinking technology, materials, services or safety devices that advance the industry.
A panel of 10 distinguished judges from a broad cross section of industries will now begin to review and analyze each entry. In early June, the top 20 entries will be announced as finalists, and the final judging will take place on the day before the opening of IWF 2008. Awards will be bestowed to the seven winning companies during a special ceremony on Wednesday August 20 at 1:30pm.
The judges for 2008 Challengers Award are: Chairman Richard Campbell; Myron Carlson, Lund Boat Company; Paul Fetzer, Fetzer Architectural Woodwork.; Marlin Horst, Premier Custom Built; Michael Fredrigo, Nucraft Furniture Co.; Greg Krodel, Masterbrand Cabinets Inc.; Doug Mock, Mock Woodworking Company; Dennis Condra, Cresent Fine Furniture Company; Stephen Wellborn, Wellborn Cabinet Inc.; and Gary Daniels, Schnadig Corporation.